5.13.2010

So much wine... but is it vegan?

Here's one of those cases where people just cannot believe a product isn't vegan, or better said, that something was produced with animal byproducts.  Wine is usually not vegan! As mad as that may seem, it's true. Although the final product does not contain animal byproducts many wine producers use them in the clarification of their wines (after fermentation, a protein is used to clear any impurities in the product). Some examples include gelatin (made from bones and connective tissues of pigs and cows, mainly), milk proteins (such as casein), isinglass (fish bladders) and in rare cases blood or egg whites. Ew? I definitely rather decanter my wine than have it filtered through any of these options!

Luckily we live in the age of the interwebs and there are people that have dedicated their time to making a list of vegan wines and other spirits: yay!


So, next time you're in the market for wine try to find a great vegan variety and pass along the information to others! Vegan choices are just that, choices we make that become votes in the marketplace. If we buy vegan we are telling producers of these products that we prefer our wine not to be filtered through fish bladders.

Cheers to that !


For more information, go to: http://www.jivdaya.org/is_wine_vegetarian.htm or http://www.barnivore.com/

**Title refers to this song 

No comments:

Post a Comment